Two Squares Down, One To Go

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s a beautiful evening and the sun is still shining. The days are getting a little longer. This means I can still go outside and snap a few pictures on my porch after dinner. Spike likes to come with me. Tonight we went outside to  document the progress on my Albers Cowl. As you can see by the title of this post, I’m in the home stretch. The Knit Pick Palette colors for this square are, from the outer edge to the center, Fairy Tale, Rouge, and Cosmopolitan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve used Fairy Tale in previous projects and it’s quickly found its way into my heart. What can I say? I’ve always been a purple and pink sort of gal, even when I was a kid. I’ll point out the obvious flaw here: the row of holes along the bottom of the center square. That’s where I cast on, and where the holes formed when I picked up stitches. I don’t know if there’s a different technique to picking up stitches along garter stitch than there is for stockinette, but I’m too lazy to redo it, and it probably won’t be visible when worn anyway. In other words, I’m OK with it.

Knitting this square took me all of last week, and what a surreal week it was here Massachusetts after the Boston Marathon bombing. I spend most of my knitting time in front of the TV anyway, but last week there was nothing on any of the local networks but bombing coverage, literally, all week 24/7.  All I could do was sit in front of the TV, glued to the non-stop coverage as the story, events, and the week grew more and more unbelievable.

It was a hell of a week. Boylston Street opened today for the first time in a week.  Boston is trying to get on with life and return to normal. Normalcy is something we’ll never take for granted again. And normalcy is something that many bombing victims will never experience in quite the same way again.

So here’s my Albers Cowl, 2/3rds of the way complete.  Notice how my first square is oddly slanted. I have no idea how that happened. I can be so ignorant about my own knitting sometimes.  So yeah, I’m going to block the hell out of this thing.

Sigh. All those ends to weave in…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

2 thoughts on “Two Squares Down, One To Go

  1. heatherinsf

    Those squares are just gorgeous! I love the colors. I’m so sorry about what you and your neighbors have been going through. Not that it’s similar much but during the Rodney King riots in SF I was chased for blocks by rioters, escaping to safety in a pub with sturdy metal doors. I wasn’t harmed but the trauma stayed with me and during 9/11 it resurfaced. Be gentle with yourself and try not to watch tv if you can. Knitting beautiful things is a great thing to do. Hugs to you.

    Reply
    1. magpiecrafter Post author

      thanks for all the kind words and for following my blog. It’s nice to know people are actually reading it!

      it’s a beautiful day in the Boston area, I hope the sun is shining for you, too!
      Best,

      Lee

      Reply

Leave a Reply

