Dish Towels, Cotton Yarn. Or, Cotton. Oy.

I don’t seem to be able to work on one project and one project only. Ever. I get the desire to move on and start something new, even when I’m happy with what’s on the needles in the first place. I managed to work on the Albers Cowl from (re)start to finish focusing all of my attention on it, but now that I’m in the weaving-in-ends stage, my attention is starting to wander. The weaving in is tedious but coming along, to be followed by blocking each square and then sewing them together. Due to an impending birthday deadline, I’ve cast on for the Dish Towels pattern featured on Knit Picks’ website. Four towels make a set.

I have to admit I’ve never had the urge to knit dish towels before, but this pattern is so cute and so simple, it had me at Cast On…I don’t know, maybe it’s the jaunty racing stripes. The towels have a clean, retro look that I really dig.

Knit Picks was sold out of the Ocean colors kit when I placed my order so I used their Kit Builder feature and chose the yarn colors and the pattern. I don’t like the dark green Jalapeno so I chose the peachy Conch as the fourth color to keep with a beachy/ocean theme. Since my brother lives in a town known for its ties to the sea, I thought it was a nice touch.  Kit Builder is a great tool, but separately the cost is higher than the kit. I didn’t how how long it would take me to knit four towels so I bit the bullet and hit the buy button (I’ve gotta stop doing that).

I’ve knit with cotton only once or twice before, so I’d forgotten how different it is from wool. I gave up on a sweater that’s currently stuck in the Ghosts Of Projects Past bin because the cotton kept sticking to the needles. That was when I learned that plastic Denise Interchangeable Needles and cotton don’t get along very well.  I cast on in Conch for the first towel on a humid day earlier this week and almost regretted starting the project in the first place. The cotton yarn was slippery on the wood needles–a little too slippery–but sticky on my fingers. My cast on was very tight so the first row was hard to knit; passing the stitches over was frustrating. And then this happened:

yarntangle

Cotton, you’re not exactly winning me over.

2 thoughts on “Dish Towels, Cotton Yarn. Or, Cotton. Oy.

  1. artisticsharon

    I completely identify with your opening statement “I don’t seem to be able to work on one project and one project only. Ever. I get the desire to move on and start something new, even when I’m happy with what’s on the needles in the first place.” I’m glad to know I’m not alone… 🙂

    Reply
  2. Kate

    Cotton can be so nice when it’s worked up, but it’s kind of a pain to work with sometimes. I also find my cast-on to be a little tight, no matter how loose I try to keep it (even going up a needle size or two!). Plus it makes my hands super sweaty, which means all the little fluffs stick to my palms. Ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

