The Knittin’ O’ The Green

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone! It’s 20 degrees out today, more like 8 with the wind chill factor. Hopefully spring will arrive soon. I’m sick of the snow and the low temperatures, even though winter means more time to knit warm articles of clothing.  Everyone’s wearing green today; they’ve been wearing it and imbibing celebrating St. Paddy’s Day all weekend, as a matter of fact. Believe it or not, it’s a mere coincidence that everything I’m knitting currently happens to be green. My green sweater has nothing to do with St. Patrick’s day, since I started knitting it around Christmas. But to tell you the truth, I was hoping I’d have it finished to wear on St. Patrick’s Day.  Once again, the best laid plans…

I have two projects on the needles. I am still knitting Armande. I always linger on the larger projects. I start with a burst of activity, knit hell for leather for a few weeks, and then put it down. I worked on it during the run-up to Christmas; I worked on it while hosting relatives during Christmas. Knitting is a great distraction when graciously allowing houseguests full control over your TV set when their taste in programming isn’t your cup of tea. I was able to avoid a lot of bad movies for a week thanks to this sweater (Steven Segall’s The Glimmer Man, I’m talking to you in particular).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I plowed past the ingenious method of sewing down the pockets as you knit the sweater and I’m now on the body of the garment, with all its buttonholes, making my way up to the sleeves and neckline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a lot of stockinette, but that’s what i like about this project. It’s mostly basic knitting with some shaping here and there, with a great collar at the finish.  This will be an amazing piece to wear when I’m done. In the meantime, I’ve started a quick cowl project, which, coincidentally, also happens to feature green.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even the new Knitters Pride circulars I picked up are green. Enough already! This is the Tangier Cowl.  I got the pattern for free during the weekend North Shore Yarn Crawl. It takes one skein of Cascade 220’s Tangier yarn. The yarn is made out of silk, cotton, acrylic and viscose. Tangier seems to be Cascade’s take on Noro. It’s similar to Noro in two ways: 1. it has the same mesmerizing color changes, and 2. it’s kind of rough and knotty. Some people may use words like “tweedy” and “slubby” but I stand by “rough” and “knotty.” Casting on was a little difficult and I didn’t like the way the yarn felt as I cast on. Fortunately, the yarn became much softer once there was some fabric between my hands, and it feels rather nice now that I’m halfway through.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is color 10, which contains green, brown and mustard shades. The green looked dominant in the skein when I bought it but as I’m knitting with it, the browns are taking over. In these photos, though, the mustard color is taking over. I think its serendipitous that i’m using this color on St. Patrick’s Day; the colors remind me of the patchwork fields of Ireland, with green grass, brown earth and plowed fields, and golden flowers.

It was very sunny when I took my photos so the colors on both projects look a little washed out.

I’ve been buying the Knitters Pride needles for a while now and I’m really impressed with them. Each size comes in a different color, which makes collecting their needles fun. They’re reasonably priced. The US9 24″ circulars I’m using on the cowl cost $9.50. The bright green needles and the black cable are stylin’. The needles are very smooth, which allows me to knit fast. It’s like using Addi Turbos. Most of my local shops carry them now, and some of the stores that used to carry brands like Brittany now carry Knitters Pride instead.

All of the yarn shops along the local North Shore (of Boston) crawl are fabulous, but one of my favorite stops is Yarns In The Farms, in Beverly Farms, MA. YITF has a devoted local following thanks to its quirky joie de vivre atmosphere, eclectic selection of local and art yarns, as well as its official mascot, guest greeter, and sometime in-house model:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is Chucho (the one on the right!) and he stole the show on Saturday (and probably all the other days of the Crawl as well). He jumped up onto the couch and perched there the whole time I was in the shop. He let people fuss over him and pet him. He sat patiently for photographs. Isn’t he adorable?

I brought home a nice selection of items from the crawl without going too nuts this year. I bought three projects home: two one-skein cowls and enough sock yarn for one pair of socks (pattern to be determined). I’ll take pictures of the fun and interesting items in my next post. For now, I’d better hit the Publish button because I only have 34 minutes left to publish my St. Patrick’s Day post before St. Patrick’s Day is over. Till next time!

Does your area host a yarn crawl? Where is it? Do you attend regularly? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “The Knittin’ O’ The Green

  1. Boston Knitter

    I was at Yahns in the Fahms on Saturday, too! We might have even crossed paths! I was the one holding my weight in Tosh DK and a single bright green Knit Collage. Do you do the Greater Boston Crawl too?

    Reply
    1. magpiecrafter Post author

      I don’t go in to the city for the boston crawl, I just do the Nath Shah crawl. We may have crossed paths in Bev Farms, there were so many people with their arms full of yarn. I am a red-headed twin and was there with my sister taking photos of the dog who was resting on top of the sofa. 🙂 Hope you got a good haul!

      Reply
      1. Boston Knitter

        I suspect I was standing next to you while you took those photos of the pup. We might have even been talking (so many faces!). Next year I’m planning to wear something incredible obnoxious and memorable ….I should have worn my neon entrelac beret this year, then we’d definitely know if our paths had crossed.

Leave a Reply

