Yarn Crawl Finished Objects

Back in March, I did the North Shore Yarn Crawl and came home with some yarn to make some small-scale projects. Unlike most years, I didn’t overdo it on the spending and I actually knit most of what I bought instead of letting it sit around the house.  I bought two different yarns for two different cowls, and yarn for one pair of socks. Out of the yarn I purchased, I only have one hank of yarn/1 unknitted project remaining. But I kind of cheated. I liked the yarn I used for the first cowl so much I purchased another ball in a different color and made the same cowl all over again. I think the hank I didn’t use yet became angry with me, because when I went to untie it in order to unwind it, it became knotted up before I could put it on the swift. Now I have a tangled purple mess on my hands whose existence I currently refuse to acknowledge. Two can play at that game.

The first cowl I completed was the Tangier cowl, knit with Cascade’s Tangier yarn.  I  bought one ball of Tangier in Forest Glade in Gloucester, MA during the crawl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I still call this yarn “green” even though, once knitted up, the gold totally dominates all the other colors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a simple yet satisfying one-ball project using a mock cable, no cable needle required.

I meant to work on another cowl after this one, but after the yarn tangled, and because I enjoyed this quick knit so much, I bought another ball of Tangier in Denim Blues in Salem, MA a few days after the crawl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the pale blues/almost greys and how the bright turquoise pops for a nice burst of color.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I knit both of these the week after the crawl. Once I was done, I moved on to the Mad Color Fiber Arts sock yarn I bought in Gloucester. The color is called Poison Apple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do love a good sock project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About five weeks after the Yarn Crawl I received a phone call from Seed Stitch Fine Yarn in Salem. I won a door prize! It’s a pattern from Toil and Trouble for a lovely pair of fingerless mitts. This is the second year (in a row, no less) that I won a small door prize; last year I won a skein of orange Malabrigo. Hopefully my lucky streak will continue next year, so, you know, fingers crossed.

Now onto spinning for a while, even though my dog is waiting for his sweater and I’m still knitting one for me… *eyeroll*

 

Leave a Reply

